Close
Simone Seagle

Simone Seagle

Independent Web and Educational Software Developer

Site Information

Search

Prev

About Me

July 13, 2017 Simone Seagle

I am a freelance software developer specializing in educational software development. Since I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Chicago in Physics, I have been working in museums.

So why transition from physics to software development? My physics degree gave me the foundation to be able to solve complex problems, but I figured out that physics research wasn't where my heart was. After I graduated from college, I moved to DC and found Quatrefoil Associates, who gave me my first real job and ignited my love of software and museums.

In 2016, I completed my Master's Degree in Software-Driven Systems Design at New Mexico Highlands University. This program allowed me to combine my love of software development and passion for the museum industry and also greatly expanded my skills. I've gone from knowing C#/WPF and Flash to knowing many more languages (Python, HTML5/CSS/JavaScript, and PHP) and having the experience to dig in to fun hardware projects on the Raspberry Pi and Arduino as well.

In the spring of 2016 I taught introductory Web Applications where I taught basic PHP, AJAX, and Node.js as well as briefly introducing my students to Ruby on Rails, jQuery, and PHP frameworks. My Master's thesis (Field Project) was Sim Pueblo, an interactive developed on the HP Sprout for the Coronado Historic Site in Bernalillo, NM. It combines physical and digital components to teach visitors about the history of the Kuaua Pueblo.

I care passionately about getting people to explore their world and to inspire awe in everyday life, and I believe that museums are one fantastic avenue for getting that to happen. Personally, I love working on projects for museums because they're always interesting and cover diverse subject matter. From weird frog mating habits, to the history of the US Postal Service, to the periodic table, I've certainly learned quite a bit.

When I'm not working, I am hanging out with my family and working in our vegetable garden.